Leadership and Administration

The Abramson Cancer Center of the University of Pennsylvania is a world leader in cancer research, patient care, and education. Our leadership team brings together years of experience and expertise with the goal of eliminating cancer.

Leadership and Administration

  • Director: Chi V. Dang, MD, PhD
  • Senior Deputy Director: Caryn Lerman, PhD
  • Deputy Director of Clinical Services: Lawrence N. Shulman, MD
  • Chief Administrative Officer, Cancer Service Line: Richard J. Funnell, MHA, FACHE, CMPE
  • Chief of Staff: Joseph R. Carver, MD
  • Executive Director of Administration: Robert F. Wynne
  • Director of Legal Affairs: Mehrin Masud Elias, Esq
  • Associate Director for Basic Research: Lewis A. Chodosh, MD, PhD
  • Associate Director for Translational Research: Robert H. Vonderheide, MD, DPhil
  • Associate Director for Clinical Research: Roger B. Cohen, MD
  • Associate Director for Pediatric Research: Garrett M. Brodeur, MD
  • Associate Director for Population Science: Katherine L. Nathanson, MD
  • Associate Director for Shared Resources: James C. Alwine, PhD
  • Associate Director for Diversity and Outreach: Carmen E. Guerra, MD
  • Associate Director for Education and Training: Brian Keith, PhD
  • Associate Director for Research Administration: Cecilia Scavelli
  • Associate Director for Information Technology: Oliver Mellet, MS

Research Program Leaders

Immunobiology Program

  • Robert H. Vonderheide, MD, DPhil
  • Warren S. Pear, MD, PhD

Tumor Biology Program

  • Anil K. Rustgi, MD

Tumor Virology Program

  • Erle S. Robertson, PhD
  • David B. Weiner, PhD

Breast Cancer Program

  • Angela M. DeMichele, MD, MSCE
  • Roger A. Greenberg, MD, PhD

Cancer Therapeutics Program

  • Ravi K. Amaravadi, MD
  • Naomi B. Haas, MD

Hematologic Malignancies Program

  • Nancy A. Speck, PhD
  • Edward A. Stadtmauer, MD

Melanoma and Cutaneous Malignancies Program

  • Lynn M. Schuchter, MD
  • John T. Seykora, MD, PhD

Pediatric Oncology Program

  • Frank M. Balis, MD
  • Garrett M. Brodeur, MD

Radiobiology and Imaging Program

  • Constantinos Koumenis, PhD
  • Amit Maity, MD

Cancer Control Program

  • Katherine L. Nathanson, MD
  • Marilyn M. Schapira, MD, MPH

Tobacco and Environmental Carcinogenesis Program

  • Trevor M. Penning, PhD
  • Robert A. Schnoll, PhD

Shared Resource/Core Facilities Directors

Biostatistics Core

  • Andrea B. Troxel, ScD (Director)
  • Rosemarie Mick, MS (Associate Director)

Cancer Histology Core

  • Qian-Chun Yu, MB, PhD

Cancer Imaging Core

  • David A. Mankoff, MD, PhD
  • Mark A. Rosen, MD, PhD

Clinical Cell and Vaccine Production Facility

  • Bruce L. Levine, PhD

Clinical Research Unit

  • Dan T. Vogl, MD

Comparative Pathology Core

  • Amy C. Durham, MS, VMD

Flow Cytometry and Cell Sorting Facility

  • Jonni S. Moore, PhD

Genomic Analysis Core

  • Tapan Ganguly, PhD

Human Immunology Core

  • Eline T. Luning-Prak, PhD

Proteomics Core

  • Ian A. Blair, PhD

Recruitment, Outcomes, and Assessment Resource

  • Karen Glanz, PhD, MPH

Small Animal Imaging Core

  • Edward J. (Jim) Delikatny, PhD

Stem Cell and Xenograft Core

  • Gwenn Danet-Desnoyers, PhD

Transgenic and Chimeric Mouse Facility

  • Stephen A. Liebhaber, MD

Tumor Tissue Bank

  • Michael D. Feldman, MD, PhD

Clinical Trials Scientific Review and Monitoring Committee

  • Sunita D. Nasta, MD, FACP (Co-Chair)

  • John P. Plastaras, MD, PhD (Co-Chair)

Data Safety and Monitoring Committee

  • Stephen J. Schuster, MD (Chair)

Abramson Cancer Center Director's Leadership Council

The Abramson Cancer Center Director's Leadership Council (ACCDLC) advises and supports the Abramson Cancer Center in programmatic direction, community interactions, long-range finance and development strategies, outreach, and public relations. The Honorary Chair, Madlyn Abramson, and her family have committed $100 million to support cancer research and patient care.